Awards 2022 Graduate Leadership Awards

Congratulations to the recipients of Penn’s 2021-22 graduate student leadership awards!  Each year, the University honors student leaders who are graduating from Penn with two awards: President & Provost's Honor for Developing New Initiatives in Graduate & Professional Student Life and the Dr. Andy Binns Award for Outstanding Service to Graduate and Professional Student Life.

This year ten graduating students are being recognized for their service and lasting contributions to graduate student life at Penn: 

Photo collage of recipient headshots with Penn shield and text: "2022 Graduate Student Leadership Awards"

Jason Andrechak (PhD, Bioengineering, Engineering); Tatiana Corcoran(LLM, Law); Magali Duque (JD, Law); Nawar Naseer (MPH and PhD, Cell and Molecular Biology, Medicine); Prioty Sarwar (PhD, Cell and Molecular Biology, Medicine); Christian Tabedzki (PhD, Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, Engineering); Mica Tan, DMD, Dental; Mrinalini Verma (MS and MLA, Design); Corey Wills (MES, SAS, & MCP, Design); Natalie  Zamora (MSEd, Education)

Each of these honorees has volunteered their time to improve life at Penn for their fellow grad students, and our campus is a better place for their efforts.  Read more about these students' contributions and the awards they received below.


President & Provost's Honor for Developing New Initiatives in Graduate & Professional Student Life 

This award is presented to students who have initiated lasting new developments that have enhanced graduate and professional student life at Penn. This year, two students are being recognized with this award: 

  • Nawar Naseer, Master of Public Health and PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology, Biomedical Graduate Studies, PSOM; & 
    Prioty Sarwar, PhD in Cell and Molecular Biology, Biomedical Graduate Studies, PSOM                  
    for taking initiative and partnering with Restorative Practices @ Penn and the IDEAL Research Program at Penn Medicine to develop racial justice and emotional support training sessions for faculty and staff. These efforts informed and were institutionalized through the creation of the IDEAL Research Trainee Advocacy Alliance (TAA), which is a network of faculty and trainees educated in how to guide trainees through difficult situations and advocate on their behalf when facing discrimination.

  • Mrinalini Verma, Master of Science in Design and Master of Landscape Architecture, Design & 
    Corey Wills, Master of Environmental Studies, SAS, & Master of City Planning, Design
    for co-founding 
    Penn RainWorks, an interdisciplinary club implementing green stormwater infrastructure (GSI) projects as part of annual EPA RainWorks Challenge and in partnership with the Netter Center for Community Partnerships. Their leadership and collaboration with the Netter Center and community partners has brought together an interdisciplinary community of students, campus, and community partners with a shared dedication to environmental justice and sustainability to work on projects that will impact our community for years to come.  

Dr. Andy Binns Impact Award for Outstanding Service to Graduate and Professional Student Life 

This award is presented to graduate or professional students, upon their graduation from Penn, who have significantly impacted graduate and professional student life through service involvement in student life initiatives or organizations. Six students received the Andy Binns Award this year:

  • Jason Andrechak, PhD in Bioengineering, SEAS, for service and leadership in advocating for equity and accessibility during the transition to virtual operations and following a period of leadership transition within GAPSA.  

  • Tatiana Corcoran, Master of Laws, Law, for extraordinary initiative and efforts to revive campus programming and activities beyond her appointed role within GAPSA.  

  • Magali Duque, JD, Law, for leadership and service within BLSA and advocating for and informing initiatives related to equity and justice within the Penn Carey School of Law.

  • Mica Tan, Doctor of Dental Medicine, Dental, for extensive leadership and service at the school and University levels and helping to define new roles through service within GAPSA.

  • Christian Tabedzki, PhD in Chemical and Biochemical Engineering, SEAS, for extensive service and leadership with GAPSA, including advocacy and contributions through the Research Council and efforts to streamline and improve equity in funding review and allocation processes.

  • Natalie  Zamora, Master of Science in Education, GSE, for outstanding leadership and service during a period of transition through leadership roles within the Latin American Graduate and Professional Student Assembly (LAGAPSA)

View All News